DWI Penalties

35 Mason Street, 3rd Floor, Greenwich CT 06830

Greenwich Office:203-622-4455

Law Offices of Doug Wells Greenwich Connecticut Law Offices of Doug Wells Greenwich Connecticut

35 Mason Street, 3rd Floor, Greenwich CT 06830

203-622-4455

Competent and Compassionate Representation

DWI Penalties

DWI Penalties in Connecticut

Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney for Clients in Greenwich, Stamford, Darien, and Across Fairfield County

connecticut dwi defense lawyer

A DWI conviction will carry a heavy price in the form of fines, potential incarceration and the loss of your driving privileges. It is vital that you hire a lawyer who can review the evidence and create a powerful defense strategy.

I am Greenwich DWI defense attorney Douglas J. Wells. With more than 35 years of criminal law experience, I have helped many people achieve successful results in difficult situations.

Criminal DWI Penalties

Over the course of my career, I have found that by informing my clients about the criminal justice system they are empowered to make wise decisions. The information below outlines the criminal penalties associated with a driving conviction:

First conviction: A two-day jail sentence with a suspended sentence of up to six months, or a six-month suspended sentence with 100 hours of community service and probation. A fine of $500 up to $1,000 will also be imposed, and you will face a drivers license suspension of 45 days along with driving a vehicle with an ignition interlock device (IID) for one year.

Second conviction (within the last 10 years): A 120-day mandatory minimum jail sentence, with a maximum jail sentence of up to two years. You will also have to perform 100 hours of community service, and you will be placed on probation. You will also be fined anywhere from $1,000 up to $4,000, and will have your driving privileges suspended for 45 days. You will also be required to drive a vehicle with an IID for three years. In the first year, your travel will be limited to work, school, and/or treatment. If you are under 21 years of age, your license will be suspended until you turn 21 or for 45 days, whichever is longer.

Third or subsequent conviction (within the last 10 years): A one-year mandatory minimum jail sentence with a maximum of three years. You will also be sentenced to perform 100 hours of community service and be placed on probation. You will also be fined anywhere from $1,000 up to $4,000, and your license will be revoked. You may be eligible to apply for limited driving privileges after six years.

All Offenders Face a Civil License Suspension

Whether this is the first offense or if you have prior convictions, you will also face an additional license suspension from the Connecticut DMV. If you refused to submit to a breath, blood or urine test, you face a six-month suspension for a first offense, a one-year suspension for a second offense and a three-year suspension for a third or subsequent offense. Commercial truck drivers face even more severe penalties.

In addition to all of the above penalties, you may also have to pay additional court costs, as well as pay for alcohol education classes and a license restoration fee.

Contact the Greenwich Law Office of Douglas J. Wells

Call me locally at 203-622-4455 or complete my online contact form to schedule a consultation to discuss your case.

Back to Top